Books That Support Social Emotional Learning

 

Books for Social Emotional Learning

Reading opens up a huge world of adventure and imagination for kids and adults alike. It is clear that books and reading help develop kids academically, but in recent years a huge focus has been emerging in the literary field around books to help support development of Social Emotional Learning Skills. Now there are a variety of books available with specific focus on supporting kids’ SEL development at all age levels (There are even some fun books for adults as well!). Here are some wonderful book options:

Courage

There Might Be Lobsters Books that support SEL
by Carolyn Crimi

Come on, Sukie, you can do it! A little dog’s paralyzing anxiety gives way to bravery when someone smaller is in need in this humorous, tenderly sympathetic story.

 

Book for Social Emotional LearningThe Dark
by Lemony Snicket

The dark lives in the same house as Laszlo. Mostly, though, the dark stays in the basement and doesn’t come into Lazslo’s room. But one night, it does.

 

Books for Social Emotional Learning

The Book of Mistakes
by Corinna Luyken

Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which “mistakes” can blossom into inspiration.

 

Kindness

Books that support SELRulers of the Playground
by Joseph Kuefler

A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in a playground setting from Joseph Kuefler, the author/illustrator of Beyond the Pond. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers.

 

Books that support Social Emotional LearningThe Invisible Boy
by Trudy Ludwig

Meet Brian, the invisible boy. Nobody ever seems to notice him or think to include him in their group, game, or birthday party . . . until, that is, a new kid comes to class.

 

Books for SELPass it On
by Sophy Henn

Here’s a fun idea: When you laugh or smile–pass it on! A story about giving, sharing, and joy.

 

Curiosity

Zoey and Sassafras: Dragons and Marshmallows SEL book
by Asia Citro

In the first book of this series, Zoey discovers a glowing photo and learns an amazing secret. Injured magical animals come to their backyard barn for help! When a sick baby dragon appears, it’s up to Zoey and Sassafras to figure out what’s wrong. Will they be able to help little Marshmallow before it’s too late?

 

Windows supports Social Emotional LearningWindows
by Julia Denos

Walking his dog at dusk, one boy catches glimpses of the lives around him in this lovely ode to autumn evenings, exploring your neighborhood, and coming home.

 

Books that support SELJulian is a Mermaid
by Jessica Love

In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world.